Fine Arts

Art today is the current motto of the fine arts program at Forum Stadtpark! Because: Good art is always of today. It is this being present within society, scratching tendencies creeping under the skin and dealing with political and aesthetic problems that drives us. We invite solo presentations and group exhibitions by artists who are aware of the power of the aesthetic, the daily powerlessness of being human and the vulnerability of what is public.

Our collection of pertinent literature (see today library link) goes to prove that this today can be easily extended from the antiquity to the contemporary. We are entirely aware that this concept of today represents a naturally paradoxical endeavour. And yet, it is the creation of a work of art in the present that has always offered a solution for tomorrow. Time itself is questioned, and so it is important to us to have spacial-aesthetic works and it remains indispensable for us to act site-specifically.

Theodor Adorno writes in "Aesthetic Theory" that art is never linear, it never orientates itself on the rational, as a form of "irrationality in the principle of rationality" it stands askew. Art today is not just a paradoxical distinctive sign, but also a plea: To put together a program is to take a stance. In this sense, we will take one for the grotesque, the upsetting, the quiet, the beautiful, the absurd, the analysing, and sometimes the uplifting … and for all the artists that we work with.

So much for the motto. So much for the stance. Maybe someday a manifesto will come from it. In his time, Claes Oldenburg wrote one that we concur with and thus will wholeheartedly insert ourselves into it with a “we”. Because we are also interested in art “that does not just sit on its ass in a museum”: We are “for a form of art that develops without knowing that it is art, a form that can begin at nothing.” We are “for a form of art that deals with the daily shit yet still winds up on top.”

In that sense …

Fine Arts

Program

Fine Arts

Filter





Fine Arts Series-archive

Artist duo founded in 2006 by Eva Pichler and Gerhard Pichler. Active both in classical exhibition contexts and in public spaces – in the form of installations, objects and videos or unannounced interventions.

zweintopf.net

zweintopf
Spartenbeautragte Bildende Kunst bis 2021

zweintopf

zweintopf@forumstadtpark.at

Curator, art educator and cultural anthropologist. Curates site-specific and site-sensitive exhibitions and enjoys discussing art. Since 2013 he has been working in the education department at the Universalmuseum Joanneum. In free projects he explores the city of Graz collectively and artistically-scientifically. He works with Birgit Kulterer on the collection of the city of Graz. (Photo: Alfred Lenz)

Markus Waitschacher
Spartenbeauftragter Bildende Kunst

Markus Waitschacher

waitschacher@forumstadtpark.at

Bildende Kunst

KUNST heute lautet die aktuelle Parole für das Programm der bildenden Kunst im Forum Stadtpark! Denn: Gute Kunst bleibt immer heutig. Ihr Gegenwärtig-Sein innerhalb der Gesellschaft, ihr Kratzen an subkutanen Tendenzen und ihr Abarbeiten an politischen wie ästhetischen Problemfeldern ist das, was uns an- und umtreibt. Zu Einzelpräsentationen und Gruppenausstellungen laden wir Künstler*innen, die sich der Macht des Ästhetischen, der alltäglichen Ohnmacht des Menschlichen und der Verwundbarkeit des Öffentlichen bewusst sind.


Dass man dieses heute in der Kunst getrost von der Antike bis in die Gegenwart ausdehnen kann, beweist unsere einschlägige Sammlung an entsprechender Fachliteratur (siehe heute Bibliothek-Link). Dass dieses heute ein naturgemäß widersinniges Unterfangen darstellt, ist uns durchaus bewusst. Und doch ist es die Entstehung eines Werks im Heute, die immer schon eine Lösung für das Morgen bereitet. Zeitliches wird in Frage gestellt, räumlich-ästhetisches Arbeiten ist uns wichtig, ortsspezifisch zu agieren erweist sich zuweilen als unverzichtbar.



Theodor Adorno schreibt in seiner „Ästhetischen Theorie“ Kunst sei nie stromlinienförmig, sie orientiere sich nicht am Vernünftigen, als „Irrationalität im Vernunftprinzip“ stellt sie sich sozusagen quer. Kunst heute will nicht nur paradoxes Erkennungszeichen sein, sondern auch Plädoyer: Ein Programm zu gestalten, ist nicht zuletzt eine Haltung. In diesem Sinne stellen wir uns quer für das Groteske, das Aufwühlende, das Leise, das Schöne, das Absurde, das Analysierende, das zuweilen auch Erheiternde … und für die Künstler*innen, mit denen wir arbeiten.



So weit die Parole. So weit die Haltung. Vielleicht erwächst daraus ja ein handfestes Manifest. Claes Oldenburg hat dereinst ein solches verfasst, das wir uns in Übereinstimmung an dieser Stelle ganz beherzt mit einem pluralen „Wir“ aneignen wollen. Denn auch uns geht es um eine Kunst, „die etwas anderes tut als im Museum auf ihrem Arsch zu sitzen“: Wir sind „für eine Kunst, die sich entwickelt, ohne überhaupt zu wissen, dass sie Kunst ist, eine Kunst mit der Chance am Punkt Null anzufangen.“ Wir sind „für eine Kunst, die sich mit dem alltäglichen Dreck herumschlägt und am Ende trotzdem obenauf ist.“
In diesem Sinne …

Bildende Kunst

Programm

Bildende Kunst

Filter





Bildende Kunst Reihen-Archiv

Künstlerduo gegründet 2006 von Eva Pichler und Gerhard Pichler. Agiert sowohl in klassischen Ausstellungszusammenhängen wie auch im öffentlichen Raum: in Form von Installationen, Objekten und Videos oder unangemeldeten Interventionen.

zweintopf.net

zweintopf
Spartenbeautragte Bildende Kunst bis 2021

zweintopf

zweintopf@forumstadtpark.at

Kurator, Kunstvermittler und Kulturanthropologe. Macht site-specific und site-sensitive Ausstellungen und diskutiert gerne über Kunst. Seit 2013 arbeitet er in der Bildungsabteilung am Universalmuseum Joanneum. In freien Projekten erforscht er kollektiv und künstlerisch-wissenschaftlich die Stadt Graz. Mit Birgit Kulterer arbeitet er an der Sammlung der Stadt Graz. (Foto: Alfred Lenz)

Markus Waitschacher
Spartenbeauftragter Bildende Kunst

Markus Waitschacher

markus.waitschacher@gmx.at